Assisting in the cold.

He told me it was going to be a long day and I was prepared, well as prepared as I could be for an all day photo shoot. Being a photographer I have done photo shoots before but not on this scale, it was exciting.

I had woken up real early that day because I had to make sure I buttoned up a roofing project I was committed to. Seeing how I was only going to be assisting on this shoot I wanted to make sure my priorities were taken care of. Once that was accomplished I rushed home to shower and get ready for the shoot.

Knowing how cold it was that day I was prepared to dress warm but there was a conflict of dressing warm and looking nice. Usually I would just wear my under armor under my clothes but I had gone running the day before, the under armor’s smell just wasn’t going to cut it. I finally decided to just throw on a pair of jeans and a sweater, thinking to myself, “Everyone is going to be dressed nice, we won’t be that cold”. Ha, That was a silly thought. Once I was dressed in my extremely un-warm outfit (but looked nice) I drove over to the photographer’s home to help him load up gear for the shoot. The photographer being an old high school friend Diego. We packed all the gear into his car and then took off to the salon.

Being all excited for the shoot I couldn’t wait to get to the salon and get things started. Although at the salon there wasn’t much for me to do except maybe run to the store for eye drops when some makeup slipped onto a model’s contact. Not all the models at the salon where ‘adults’, four of them were teenagers and that was an experience all on its own. While we waited Diego proceeded to evaluate which outfits the models had brought with them and which ones they were going to wear for the shoot. We spent a couple of hours at the salon watching the hair and makeup get done on each model. It wasn’t a fast process by any means and was starting to diminish my excitement. Not that hair and make up isn’t  exciting, just not my forte. Finally all the models had their hair done and their make up on. It was off to Jamestown we went.

Jamestown? But didn’t you just say it was really cold? Yes and yes! Fort Wetherill to be exact, I had never been there before so yet another new experience for me. Everyone arrived at Fort Wetherill practically at the same time. Diego took off right away to scout for a good location for the shoot. I forgot to mention that we had spent a little bit too much time at the salon and the sun was starting to set. It was only getting colder and there was a lot of images to capture. After losing Diego for a minute or so he popped out of the woods with a location heading. He directed the group of models, parents and make up artist included to where the shoot was going to take place as him and I headed back to the car to grab some equipment. At the car we grabbed as much equipment are four hands could handle. The location from the car was a couple hundred feet with a short walk through a wooded area, followed by a little climb, ending with an opening to a large concrete area filled with graffiti. All the models were huddling together under blankets to stay warm while Diego and I started setting up the equipment. After a couple of test shots Diego quickly decided he needed more equipment and asked if I wouldn’t mind going to the car to get it. I didn’t mind but he didn’t specify exactly what he needed except for the reflector, his other words were,”what ever you can grab”. I managed to hike my way back with the reflector and everything else I could grab; the shoot could begin.

First we got the group shot out-of-the-way. All the models were wearing a lot of nothing and looked really cold. I couldn’t imagine their pain. I was in a winter jacket with a hat and still freezing. After the group shot Diego cycled through the models one by one, we had to keep it moving; the sun was setting fast. The models cuddled up under the blankets taking turns uncovering to stand under the beauty dish and hold the reflector under their chin, all while the cold wind was blowing, it was something to see. All the individual shots were taken and it was off to the bunker to pair up the models and also get one last group shot.

With the sun almost set the bunker was extremely dark. The first room had a window so it wasn’t completely dark but, it was still hard to see. In the bunker I was holding the strobe with a softbox in place with the battery pack wrapped around my neck, the stand just wasn’t tall enough and with me holding the strobe it was easier to position. We all moved into the second room to continue at this point. The second room didn’t have any windows and at this point the sun had pretty much set. While holding the strobe I would have to turn on the modeling light so that Diego could focus and we would all see each other for a moment, then right off again. Diego would release the shutter, there was a flash, and then darkness again. Every time the Strobe would recycle (Be ready to use again.) you would hear a short beep. Not being able to see the models or anything for that matter, the models knew that when they heard the beep it was time to switch poses. The bunker shoot ended with one last group shot in the third room. The third room was just as dark as the second. The only difference was when the beep went off you could hear all the models shuffling around at once but couldn’t see a thing. With the shoot being done it was time to pack up and leave.

With me having the strobe I turned on the modeling light and placed it in the second room so we would all have light to pack up and make our way out of the bunker. Now it was time to make that journey back to the car with all the equipment only this time it was really dark. All the models, moms, and the makeup artist were super helpful by grabbing some equipment to bring back with them. For the way back I strapped the battery pack back around my neck and held the strobe with the modeling light on to give us light for the walk. The walk back in the dark wasn’t that bad with having the light and everything numb at this point. Diego and I packed all the equipment back into his car, said our good byes and were on our way home.

All and all it was an Awesome experience. I would do it again in a heartbeat if I had the chance and hope to do more like it. A shoot of my own or assisting again, either way it was a blast. I got to meet some awesome people and freeze my butt off in the process.

Assiting Diego in Jamestown

Special thanks to Diego Correal from Diego Correal Imagery for letting me tag along. Don’t forget to also check out St.Pierre Photography

Tagged

Leave a comment